"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

Honey Started Life As……………


A magician’s assistant………..

Image

She arrived into our life one day, unannounced and as far as I was concerned, unwanted. My life was complicated enough, and my health was balanced on a knife edge. I believed that I was barely able to take care of myself let alone take care of a dog. I knew that it would be me who would be doing the looking after as my wife and son would go off to work each day and I would be here………… with the dog.

I put up a pretty good fight but they wore me down, there were too many of them, and they all wanted the same thing.

My wife named her Honey which went down very well when I was out walking her. Some large bloke with a large dog would ask, “My dog’s name’s crusher, what yours?”

“Honey.”

Might as well shoot me now.

There had not been a dog in my life for about 30 years. That’s not true, there had been dogs, but mostly they were owned by other people, and I was just on their visiting rounds.

I grew up with dogs. Big beautiful Greyhounds.

Then a Red Australian Terrier name Digger (not very original but what are you going to do).

The reality was that the dogs belonged to my dad and I just got to play with them a bit and walk them a bit.

Then, 30 years later, along comes Honey, and a little while later along comes Zed. Both unexpected and both landing in my lap.

Honey was more than happy to be an ‘only dog’, and she did not take it well when Zed arrived.

She had us to herself for a bit over a year, and since then she has had to share, but sometimes you need someone from your own species to talk to, to roughhouse with (those humans are so easily scratched and they make such a fuss).

In many ways, Honey was born to be in this pack. She likes all the things I like, hanging out, sleeping, watching movies, lying in front of the fire, chasing cats (more her than me) barking at the dog next door (again more her than me) and lying on the bed while I type.

Of course Zed likes all these things as well, and he does them too, but he would really rather be running around chasing stuff and yelling at other dogs and shooing off unwanted humans, but because he wants to fit in he puts those things aside and does what his pack leader tells him to do (most of the time)

If you are wondering why I gave in, here is one of the reasons…………………

ImageSeriously, could you say no?

ImageFood plays a big role in Honey’s life.

Image

She loves the beach.

Image

The very first time her little feet touched sand, she looked at me and took off! She didn’t stop running until she was exhausted. She knows that the beach is for playing.

Image

She also spends a lot of time sitting out the front of cafes. Her favourites are pizza places……… for obvious reasons.

ImageThere has been the occasional indignity but generally speaking, I think she likes it here.

5 responses

  1. ‘Crusher’… *grin*

    I’d rather ‘Honey’ any day, but I can understand your reservations! And it seems a little indignity is to be the fate of all well-loved dogs… mine included!

    Have you seen the little book ‘Wagging Tales’ by Tasmanian photographer Kirsty Pilkington? I received it as a gift this week and it’s quite delightful; I recommend it.

    Like

    May 17, 2013 at 11:54 pm

    • Thank you for your comment Susie.
      I will check out that book……….. what thoughtful friends you have.
      Terry

      Like

      May 18, 2013 at 12:54 am

  2. 1annecasey

    Gorgeous!

    Like

    May 25, 2013 at 5:35 am

  3. Pingback: Small Dog Clears Beach. | araneus1

  4. colleen mahon

    Love your many short stories you share – they are delightful. I would so love a dog like ” Honey ” . I’m sort of searching around at the moment hoping the right one comes along – nothing like the love of a dog. I enjoy my cats but there love is more reserved.

    Liked by 2 people

    April 23, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

