"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

Mindfullness.


IMG_1827

THE THINGS YOU SEE WHEN YOU ARE WALKING THE DOGS.

We walked past this young man who had not long ago gotten off the school bus.

He was sitting cross-legged with his eyes closed in what was probably a meditation pose.

Meditation is one of the things that has kept me sane in recent years, but I cannot remember the last time I saw someone meditate in public.

I must say that I was impressed.

I almost didn’t take a photo as I felt like I might be intruding. I compromised by taking the shot from a distance. The quality of the photo suffers but I  had to show some respect for this brave and confident young man.

The dogs gave him a quick sniff as we passed by but his calm energy probably told them that he was ok, so they passed by without comment.

2 responses

  1. Makes me want to get a smaller dogwalking camera right away! 🙂 Nice observation, good dogs.

    Like

    June 1, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    • I was lucky that I was noticing things that day. Sometimes I walk around in a daze.
      The dogs were very patient. Sometimes they don’t like me taking photos, they would rather move on to the next good smell.
      Thank you for taking the time to comment.
      Terry

      Like

      June 2, 2013 at 1:08 am

Leave a Reply

