"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

Jack Lives Here.


img_1320

Honey and Zed like to take different walks each day. We usually walk twice a day and I like to walk around my area so I change things a bit by taking slightly different routes in the morning and in the afternoon.

On rainy days [which we have not had a lot of this winter] we go to one of the town shopping centres and walk around under the verandahs and that way we only get slightly wet.

The photo above is from our morning walks. We head up the hill towards Sherbrooke Forrest and hang a left a couple of streets up before it gets too steep [you try walking up a one in four incline first thing in the day!]

This street takes us to one of two ways but we usually choose to go left again down an excellent laneway, past a small creek which feeds into ours and then back up towards the highway, either taking the long or the short way home.

The photo above shows a house just before we get to that laneway I spoke of, and just before this house is a cedar clad cottage set well back from the road with a small creek [which only runs when it rains] running through the front yard.

Jack lives there.

Or at least he used to.

Jack [who’s real name is Mimi] belonged to Joy, and Joy is [was] a little old lady who used a walking stick to get painfully around.

My two would always look out for Jack [because she is a Jack Russell terrier] who was always off lead. She would zoom past us like a fighter plane and my two loved it.

I talked with Joy a few times and she always asked me the same question, “What kind of dogs are they?”. And I always answered the same way, “Shitzu Maltese”. We would take about dogs and the weather and we would head off to complete our walks.

It seemed to me that Joy might soon get to the point where she found it difficult to walk Jack/Mimi so I gave her my card and said that I would be happy to take Jack/Mimi with us for a walk any time she liked.

She smiled but she never did ask.

Last summer her house caught fire. The local brigade put it out before it did too much damage but I guess it was too much for her family because I never saw Jack/Mimi or Joy again.

My guess is that her family thought that she could not look after herself any more and put her in a home.

It’s a good seven months later and yesterday a FOR SALE sign went up on the house.

I don’t know if Joy is still alive or not [her neighbours are not sure what happened to her], but in a way I hope she isn’t. After living in this amazing environment all her life and then being stuck in ‘one of those places’ I think I would prefer to be dead.

With a bit of luck Jack/Mimi found a new home but wherever he is I’ll bet he would rather be with this fiesty old lady who took him for a walk ever day, even though it hurt, and let her zoom past the local ‘fluff balls’.

God speed Joy and God speed Mimi and thank you for being a part of our world.

Terry, Honey and Zed.

One response

  1. That’s a great story – sadly all too familiar as our older neighbours seemingly disappear overnight. We have a lovely elderly neighbour across the road from us and after we’d been home for two minutes on Sunday after our holiday she was at the front door with a bone for Ruby. Said she’d been waiting all week for us to get back…

    Liked by 1 person

    July 12, 2013 at 4:34 am

Leave a Reply

