"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

Just a Little Closer.


IMG_8815

Some days Zed just cannot get close enough.

A big chunk of my working day involves sitting on my bed with a heap of pillows behind me and my laptop appropriately placed on my lap. There is a constant competition between my two dogs for ‘possession of the lap’. [I spend a lot of time typing sideways!] But sometimes even the lap is not enough. Zed has a habit of eating things he shouldn’t eat and so he gets a tummy ache.
For Zed the best place to be, when he is stressed, is sitting on my shoulder. This probably goes back to when he was a pup. He would climb up and sit on my shoulder if he was frightened.
It might look cute, but if it goes on for too long it makes my neck sore.
Interestingly, I think this shot was taken by my good lady on ‘talk like a pirate day’. So maybe Zed was just getting into the mood of the day.

Photo Credit goes to my amazing wife.

9 responses

  1. My dog, Bonnie, always has me in sight. If in bed. she is always touching me. We comfort each other.

    Like

    September 22, 2013 at 3:03 am

    • It’s toss up as to who needs who the most in my case. I take great comfort and inspiration from dogs, as I’m sure you do.
      Thank you for the comment.
      Terry

      Like

      September 22, 2013 at 3:23 am

  2. Ah ah me hearties!

    Like

    September 22, 2013 at 4:53 am

  3. Nessy San

    Lovely photo of you and Zed! 🙂

    Like

    September 22, 2013 at 8:26 am

    • Thank you, it did come out well, didn’t it. Wearing a dog makes me look ten years younger.
      Thanks for the comment.
      Terry

      Like

      September 22, 2013 at 10:22 am

  4. The parrot thing was a lot cuter & more comfortable when he was small enough to fit inside my shoe.

    Like

    September 23, 2013 at 3:20 am

    • Yep…….. he’s feeling better today. Ironically we think it might be the treats he gets for not lunging and taking out small children and skateboarders. Recently he has been very well behaved and consequently receiving a lot of treats. I’m going to go back to giving him his usual food and the occasion treat as treats. He does not seem to mind he just likes the attention and the reward.

      Like

      September 23, 2013 at 3:25 am

  5. Reblogged this on sscottyy's Blog.

    Like

    September 22, 2016 at 11:04 am

Leave a Reply

