"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

Eric’s Ear.


b1a1099c2ecfca6c88f5fede084100a1

Eric is an excellent dog. Loyal and true.

Eric has an extra special talent. It concerns my wife Betty. Betty has been riding the roller coaster of emotional instability all her life. At a young age, I decided to save her, and she saved me right back.

Eric came to us a pup.

Actually, I stole him from the prick who breed animals as though they were a commodity.

He was a nasty bastard, and much bigger than I am, but I knew that he drank himself stupid on a Friday night and then attempted to walk home. He’d been prosecuted so many times for drink driving, he knew the next time it would mean prison. So he staggered home late every Friday night.

I beat him severely one Friday night; so badly that you could hear his moans over the sound of the distressed dogs on his property.

I kept Eric and found homes for the rest. A couple didn’t survive long enough for me to get them to the vet, but at least they were free for a little while.

Eric knows when Betty is starting to confuse real life for what goes on inside her head. He doesn’t keep it to himself, not Eric. He’s a sharer. He seems to know that I can look out for her when things get bad.

He doesn’t bark at me or give me a particular face, he simply drops one ear.

That ear was damaged when he was crammed into a cage as a pup. It straightened out as he got older, but he seems to know how to let it droop, at least until I notice that Betty needs help.

One hell of a dog that Eric.

3 responses

  1. troublebustrr

    Reblogged this on chronicles of an adopted dog and commented:
    Hey Eric – wonderful write and just know this, you are beautiful and lucky – and you have ears! Mine were chopped off when I was young – it’s a brutal act if you ask me – but I’m happy to have come away from that place.
    Love & tail wags,
    Bustrr

    Liked by 1 person

    February 19, 2015 at 11:28 am

    • Eric said to say thank you, and that he would sniff you later.
      Terry

      Liked by 1 person

      February 19, 2015 at 9:49 pm

      • troublebustrr

        woof woof

        Liked by 1 person

        February 20, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Leave a Reply

