"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

The Adventures of Rufus: William.


b8bb07066f7e0deec80f75eada944158

We aren’t exactly friends. It doesn’t work like that. Not with William.

As William puts it, “I work for a living and you sit around a lot.”

I do my best to defend my work, but William just shows his teeth. That’s his way of saying, ‘If you keep talking, there is going to be trouble.’ He’s a lot bigger than I am, so I look away and wait for another opportunity to show him that what I do is important.

“Do you round anything up? Do you herd? Do you know what your master wants just from the sound of his whistle?”

“No. But that’s not my job. I look after my mistress. It’s a full-time job. I have to be constantly aware of any strangers who might hurt her. I have to comfort her when she is sad, and I have to keep her company when she takes those long walks. Of course, there is the ever-present menace; sea crabs. Okay, so the sea crabs are more of a problem for me than they are for her, but they are a menace, and if I didn’t bark a lot she could easily stand on one.”

“Do you go out in all weathers? Do you work in the snow?”

“Not really. My mistress sometimes walks in the rain, but she really doesn’t like snow. Not that snow bothers me. My ancestors come from snow country.”

“Lots of excuses. Stop talking now, you bore me.”

William was one of the few dogs that I could not win over with my sparkling personality; which made me all the more desperate to win his approval.

Maybe if I told him the story about finding the dead body and solving the murder.

Are sheepdogs impressed with crime solving?

I’m beginning to think that William is only going to be impressed if I round up sheep, and preferably in a blinding snow storm.

I’m going to sit in front of the open fire and give it all a bit more thought.

 

2 responses

  1. Outstanding image and lovely writing! 🙂 William looks like a lot of fun. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    March 18, 2015 at 8:37 am

    • It is a fabulous shot, and I’m beginning to think that William has a future.
      Thanks for the comment.
      Terry

      Liked by 1 person

      March 18, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Leave a Reply

