"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

The Adventures of Rufus: Sailor Dog.


8747a094c363351da7f99526e702f807Sailor dog [I called him that because, strangely, he didn’t have a name], lived on board his master’s boat.

The boat was moored in the harbour when they weren’t out fishing.

My mistress and I live close to the water but not that close to the small harbour where ‘sailor dog’ lived, so I only saw him on the odd occasion. He is the kind of friend who doesn’t mind how much time has gone by since the last time he saw you.

He always greets me the same way, sounding a bit like a pirate, because I once said that I thought his pirate voice was funny.

That’s sailor dog all over.

He remembers stuff.

He remembers your favourite food and where you hide your dog tags when you are out late and have had a bit too much to drink. He remembers the name of your first girlfriend and why you have that scar on your bottom. But by far the best part of our friendship is sailor dog’s ability to tell an endless line of excellent stories —- never heard the same story twice. They are all things that have allegedly happened to him, but I think that he would need ten ordinary lifetimes just to fit in all his adventures. I once said that his ancestors must be cats because he seems to have lived at least nine lives. He wasn’t amused. He doesn’t believe that jokes about cats are appropriate. He feels that his reputation for being ‘salty’ could be irreparably damaged if people started comparing him to a cat. “Hopeless seamen, cats. Bloody things drown if you look at them sideways. Don’t know why humans put up with them.”

One thing that sailor dog is very good at is sleeping; as long as he is on board he can sleep soundly all day if need be. He does like going for walks but because of his seafaring lifestyle, he has trained himself to not get agitated if a few days go by without a walk.

Every dog needs a job and sailor dog has found his.

It’s a romantic life and I doubt that he could easily adapt to life on land, and I hope that he never has to. 

2 responses

  1. I nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award (OMG Version)
    Check it out here.- http://wp.me/p60vo-4b3
    All my best wishes Aquileana ⭐

    Liked by 1 person

    March 27, 2015 at 4:13 am

Leave a Reply

