"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

The Adventures of Rufus: Percy.


3d51703c45f22d186c8ef35912746550

Percy is small,white, skinny and constantly damp.

Normally, I wouldn’t hang around with such a dog, but he makes me laugh, and that is close to life’s most important thing.

He has one other characteristic that makes him stand out; his mistress is a little girl.

Normally, I steer clear of children.

The only nice thing I can think of to say about them is that they often have sticky fingers and they don’t mind if you lick them clean.

Apart from that, they are noisy, unpredictable and liable to pull your ears, for no reason at all.

But Percy doesn’t feel this way, so I tolerate his mistress.

I mentioned that Percy is constantly damp?

Well, this is because he and his mistress have a fatal attraction for water.

If it’s raining they are out in it.

If there is a puddle, they will find it.

If there is a sprinkler on within a five mile radius, they’ll be under it.

I don’t understand it at all, but it is not for me to know.

It makes them happy, and happy can be hard to find.

77ab2bcda08b2235bf2a0a8935b7a298

Leave a Reply

