"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

Rufus verses Spring.


ff4f871974c684a993ef9dad1c9e5cad

I’m only a dog so I’m not supposed to know that this is called Spring.

The humans don’t know it, but us dogs know lots of stuff, it’s just that we keep it quiet. It’s always better to listen than to speak. Dogs know this, and humans are still learning.

Take these two birds for example. They have a real conversation going on.

The male bird is trying to talk the female bird into starting a family. She is pretending not to be interested, and he is having to work very hard to convince her.

She’ll give in. I know she likes him, and more importantly, she believes that he will be a good father.

This is important because it takes a two birds and a lot of energy to raise a nest full of chicks.

The chicks drive me crazy sometimes. I often fall asleep under this tree and they swoop down and pull my ears. I have even caught them trying to extract some of my fur while it was still attached to me! I don’t mind if they play with the fur that falls out, but I have to draw the line at plucking. I need that fur. It keeps we warm on those chilly Spring nights.

Kids! What are you going to do?

Time for a nap.

I might as well enjoy the peace and quiet before this pair starts another family.

Leave a Reply

