"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

The Lead


Scottie1

“Lead is one of those confusing words Rufus. It can mean that you are showing someone the way and it can mean the thing that I attached to your collar when we go for a walk. But I sometimes wonder who is leading who.”

My mistress was trying to explain to me why I have to have a collar and a lead when we go walking.

I appreciated the effort, but it didn’t stop me from being annoyed.

Naturally, I preferred to walk along next to my mistress with the occasional short excursion. I need to sniff stuff from time to time, just to know who has been around and how they are getting on.

There are special occasions when I don’t mind being attached to a lead, such as when my mistress is receiving a writing award. She is a very good writer so she often gets invited to award ceremonies. It is one of the few times that I am allowed to attend.

“You are an important accessory Rufus. The photographers love to take photos of you and that helps with my profile and that helps me sell books and that means that I can afford to buy dog biscuits.”

Anything that helps my mistress buy dog biscuits is okay with me.

Even if there weren’t dog biscuits involved I would still enjoy these occasions just because I enjoy being with her. I worry when I’m not with her because it is my job to protect her and I can’t do that if I cannot see her.

Train journeys is another time for me to wear a lead.

The railway people tend not to like dogs and they make a huge fuss if there is a dog on the loose.

I once had to hide behind a pile of suit cases just to get away from an angry stationmaster.

“I’m going to write a story where the murder weapon is a dog lead and I will dedicate the story to you Rufus.”

She doesn’t have to do that, but it will be nice to see my name in print.

It almost makes it okay to have to wear a lead.

Almost.

One response

  1. ‘Anything that helps my mistress buy dog biscuits is okay with me.’

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    September 8, 2015 at 5:10 am

Leave a Reply

