"The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man's." – Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

The Best Part of my Day


15065c04310f34140da290d124e3557d

The best part of my day begins when my mistress gets home from work.

Her train gets in about half past six and she is through the door about ten minutes later. I jump about a lot and she scratches my ears.

She picks up my lead and we head for the beach. Sometimes we just sit there and look out at the water. I wonder how I can catch one of those birds and she wonders about stuff that human females wonder about.

The next bit is fun also — fish and chips from the shop. I’m not allowed to have any ‘until they cool down’, which seems to take forever.

As it gets dark, we walk slowly home and I’m allowed to sniff anything I like, no matter how long it takes.

Leave a Reply

